When I first started out, my monthly budget was $3,000, which equated to $100 a day. Let's use $100/day for our calculations in this article, as that seems to be one of the most common goals people want to achieve on their own websites. When I hear people talking about Adsense, I hear a lot about lucrative niches, CPC, making a full-time income, and so on, but I never hear much about traffic. Every day, I see forum threads from people who want to learn how to make $100 a day with Adsense. It's just about traffic at the end of the day. Many factors influence a site's total revenue, but high traffic is the common denominator.
So, how much traffic do you need to hit $100 per day with Adsense?
When I regularly received over 150,000 visitors a month, I was able to make a full-time salary. That wasn't the case for only one website, though. The traffic was distributed through about 20 pages, with three of them accounting for 90% of the total.
Am I implying that 150,000 monthly visitors will always equate to $100 a day?
Obviously not. It may be much smaller, or even much higher. There are so many variables at play that everyone's experience would be unique. However, it's a close call.
So, how can you figure it out?
Page RPM is the most important parameter to consider when calculating AdSense revenue for a website.
What is the concept of page RPM?
It's essentially a measure of how much money you earned per 1,000 page views. It's determined by a combination of your traffic, CTR (click-through-rate), and CPC (cost-per-click) (cost per click).
Estimated earnings / Number of page views) * 1,000 = Page RPM
With AdSense, the average RPM I've seen is about $5 to $10 for large niches and up to $100 for more competitive niches with high CPC. You can reliably predict earnings potentials for higher traffic numbers, as well as the amount of traffic you'll need to make a full-time salary if you know your RPM. For example, if one of your websites generates a $10 RPM on average, that equates to $10 per 1000 visitors. As a result, you can easily calculate that increasing your traffic to 100,000 visitors would earn you $1,000. You'd make $10,000 if you grew it to a million people. Again, not flawless precise, but a decent estimate.
What is the average RPM for a page?
The average AdSense RPM varies significantly depending on your niche, website efficiency, traffic source, and the number of advertisers on the AdWords network. It will normally cost between $2 and $5 on the low end. It can be anywhere between $5 and $10 on the medium end. On the higher end, that can reach $50 or more.
To make $100 a day, you'll need a lot of traffic.
Let's take a look at some examples of metrics to further break down the numbers. We'll make every effort to use percentages that are as close to average as possible. We're going to use a $1 CPC and a 5% CTR in this case. So, with those numbers, how much traffic do we need to make $100 a day? First, we must determine how many clicks equal $100. There are 100 clicks if you divide 100 by one. The cumulative traffic must be... 100 / 0.05 = 2,000 if we need 100 clicks at a 5% CTR. A daily average of 2,000 visitors is needed. That's 2,000 x 30 = 60,000 per month. To earn $100 a day with AdSense, you'll need 60,000 visitors a month. Of course, this is just a guess based on idealized metric estimates. It's not easy to keep an average CPC of $1 or higher, and CPC is a big factor in how much traffic you'll need to get there. Some of my blogs regularly receive over 10% CTR, while others receive less than 2%. Some of my pages have CPCs ranging from $2 to $5, while others never exceed $0.30.
Can you figure out what the page RPM on the above example site is?
You are right if you replied $50. Remember that RPM is the amount of money you'd make if you had 1000 visits to your website. If you have 1000 visitors for $1 CPC and a 5% CTR, you'll get 50 clicks (5 percent of 1000) at $1 CPC. A $50 page RPM is fantastic. If I were having $50 RPM on a blog, I'd start putting more posts and meaty content on it right away to raise those traffic numbers. Then, based on your potential traffic targets, you can determine a projected income. It will cost $25,000 a month to boost site traffic to 500,000 visitors per month.